VTTW Board Index
April 29, 2024, 01:29:30 EDT *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Game and TV Information - Next football game: Tennessee at Missouri, November 11, 2023, 3:30 p.m. ET, CBS. Go Big Orange!

Message Board Links - Wayne and Hobbes' Auburn Board, Mudlizard's Vitual Swamp

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Off topic - I want some people's opinion  (Read 6459 times)
Volznut
Heisman

View Profile
« on: September 26, 2012, 09:02:25 EDT »

Some of you who I am FB friends with probably know that the company I work for laid off 1700 people world-wide a few weeks ago. Now, I wasn’t one of them, but I don’t like the strategic direction the company is going. Some of you know I am a program manager/engineer with a hardware background, and my company is slowly but surely going strategically towards being a solutions and software company. I feel that hardware people will eventually be weened out within the next 3 years.
I am not interested in moving right now, I am pretty settled in, have 2 kids in school, and my wife also works. I am, however looking locally to make a move, if the right opportunity presents itself.
Well, a certain very well known company based in Silicon Valley (I won’t name them but they’re named after a fruit) has contacted me and seems interested. I assume you know what company I am talking about, and I’d be a fool to not be interested, but man…I am really not interested in moving, which I’d have to do…but….damn ….