VTTW Board Index
April 30, 2024, 03:52:47 EDT *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Game and TV Information - Next football game: Tennessee at Missouri, November 11, 2023, 3:30 p.m. ET, CBS. Go Big Orange!

Message Board Links - Wayne and Hobbes' Auburn Board, Mudlizard's Vitual Swamp

Home   Help Search Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Paging IV, Gregg, etc. Re: HVAC  (Read 7008 times)
murfvol
All-SEC

View Profile
« on: October 09, 2012, 05:22:26 EDT »

What size unit(s) is needed for a two story 1900 square foot house with no high ceilings that gets no morning sun, but a lot of it in the afternoon?

Currently it has a 3 ton/40,000 btu unit that's 12 years old.

"The more the words, the less the meaning, and how does that profit anyone?" - Ecclesiastes 6:11
Inspector Vol
All-American

View Profile
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2012, 06:02:11 EDT »

I am by no means a hvac expert, but it depends on a lot of factors. How well are you insulated in the walls,ceilings, windows & doors?  What is your climate? I assume you have a split unit now, one that services the upstairs and one the downstairs, are you replacing both?

Rule of thumb used to be 500ft per ton.

I can advise against over sizing as that can be worse than a little undersized for your home. Good luck.
GreggO
All-SEC

View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2012, 06:53:35 EDT »

IV is correct on all counts. Also, units are a lot more effecient these days than just 10-15yrs ago. Are you going "John Ward" (gas) or electric?  I would talk to several contractors to see if you can find a consensus.

G
murfvol
All-SEC

View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 09, 2012, 07:06:11 EDT »

Much appreciated gentlemen. Gas is not an option (we're in the sticks and there's no line), and we have a single unit that appears to be on its last legs. Our insulation is o.k., but not awful. The ceilings, doors and windows are pretty decent.